Winners of National Book Award b for 2010 announced

Number of View :11838
Cover of "So Much for That: A Novel"


Winners of National Book Award b for 2010 announced

In New York Wednesday November 17, were declared winners of the National Book Award for 2010. As reported by Associated Press, the most prestigious award in the category fiction got Jamie Gordon for “Lord of Misrule”.

Gordon’s victory was a surprise to many, as he was not very popular among the general public, up to the awards ceremony the main contenders for the award were considered to Lionel Shriver (the novel “So Much for That”) and Nicole Krauss (“Great House”).
The best in the category of “nonfiction” -the singer and poet Patti Smith of memoir of New York in 1960.,
Kathryn Erskine received the award in the category of “literature for children” for her novel “Mockingbird”. Terrence Hays and his poetry collection “Lighthead” received the award in the category “poetry.” Honor Award for “outstanding service to the American Literary Society” presented to Tom Wolfe and Joan Ganz Cooney, one of the creators of “Sesame Street” (“Sesame Street”).

National Book Award is one of the most prestigious literary awards in U.S., along with the Pulitzer Prize. In 2010, the National Book Award was awarded 61 th time. Award winners were handed bronze statues and checks for 10 thousand dollars.

Related posts:

  1. Oliver Stone received award at the Mumbai Film Festival
Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Blog WebMastered by All in One Webmaster.